Playing the long game

Stop looking for instant gratification

Ayesha Tariq
2 min readOct 13, 2022

Success doesn’t come overnight. That’s probably the most trite phrase ever. But, it’s also very true and never more true when applied to writing.

Photo by Artur Aldyrkhanov on Unsplash

I’ve always wanted to be writer. I wrote articles for my local newspaper when I was a teenager and sporadically afterwards. In 2019, when I quit my job to become a full-time consultant, I decided to pursue writing as a side-gig. It felt like I suddenly had all this time, so why not do what I always loved doing.

I didn’t succeed at writing because I couldn’t keep at it.

We live in a world where instant gratification is the theme. We want instant recognition and patience really has become a virtue. I wrote a few articles on Medium, they were smashing hits and I thought that’s how it was going to be. I wrote 20 articles after that — nothing.

So I gave up and decided, that wasn’t for me.

In 2021, the pandemic still kept as largely at home and I wanted to start writing again. This time I decided to build my audience through Substack and write about the financial world. The stock market was raging and I got some takers.

The funny part is, the first few months were just as brutal. I got may be three subscribers. But, that didn’t deter me. I enjoyed what I…

--

--

Ayesha Tariq

Mother | Macro & Investment Strategist | Co-Founder, MacroVisor | Contributor on Bloomberg & Fox Business | Ex Corporate Banker